list: API endpoint for returning a list of magic items.
retrieve: API endpoint for returning a particular magic item.

GET /v1/magicitems/?format=api&ordering=type&page=8
HTTP 200 OK
Allow: GET, HEAD, OPTIONS
Content-Type: application/json
Vary: Accept

{
    "count": 1618,
    "next": "https://api.open5e.com/v1/magicitems/?format=api&ordering=type&page=9",
    "previous": "https://api.open5e.com/v1/magicitems/?format=api&ordering=type&page=7",
    "results": [
        {
            "slug": "rod-of-the-jester",
            "name": "Rod of the Jester",
            "type": "Rod",
            "desc": "This wooden rod is decorated with colorful scarves and topped with a carving of a madly grinning head. Caper. While holding the rod, you can dance and perform general antics that attract attention. Make a DC 10 Charisma (Performance) check. On a success, one creature that can see and hear you must succeed on a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw or have disadvantage on Wisdom (Perception) checks made to perceive any creature other than you for 1 minute. The effect ends if the target can no longer see or hear you or if you are incapacitated. You can affect one additional creature for each 5 points by which you beat the DC (two creatures with a result of 15, three creatures with a result of 20, and so on). Once used, this property can’t be used again until the next dawn. Hideous Laughter. While holding the rod, you can use an action to cast the hideous laughter spell (save DC 15) from it. Once used, this property can’t be used again until the next dawn. Slapstick. You can use an action to swing the rod in the direction of a creature within 5 feet of you. The target must succeed on a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw or be pushed up to 5 feet away from you and knocked prone. If the target fails the saving throw by 5 or more, it is also stunned until the end of its next turn.",
            "rarity": "rare",
            "requires_attunement": "requires attunement",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "rod-of-the-mariner",
            "name": "Rod of the Mariner",
            "type": "Rod",
            "desc": "This thin bone rod is topped with the carved figurine of an albatross in flight. The rod has 5 charges. You can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges and point the rod at one or more creatures you can see within 30 feet of you, expending 1 charge for each creature. Each target must succeed on a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw or be cursed for 1 minute. A cursed creature has disadvantage on attack rolls and saving throws while within 100 feet of a body of water that is at least 20 feet deep. The rod regains 1d4 + 1 expended charges daily at dawn. If you expend the last charge, roll a d20. On a 1, the rod crumbles to dust and is destroyed, and you must succeed on a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw or be cursed for 1 minute as if you had been the target of the rod's power.",
            "rarity": "rare",
            "requires_attunement": "requires attunement",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "rod-of-the-wastes",
            "name": "Rod of the Wastes",
            "type": "Rod",
            "desc": "Created by a holy order of knights to protect their most important members on missions into badlands and magical wastelands, these red gold rods are invaluable tools against the forces of evil. This rod has a rounded head, and it functions as a magic mace that grants a +2 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with it. While holding or carrying the rod, you have advantage on Wisdom (Perception) and Wisdom (Survival) checks made in badlands and wasteland terrain, and you have advantage on saving throws against being charmed or otherwise compelled by aberrations and fiends. If you are charmed or magically compelled by an aberration or fiend, the rod flashes with crimson light, alerting others to your predicament. Aberrant Smite. If you use Divine Smite when you hit an aberration or fiend with this rod, you use the highest number possible for each die of radiant damage rather than rolling one or more dice for the extra radiant damage. You must still roll damage dice for the rod’s damage, as normal. Once used, this property can’t be used again until the next dawn. Spells. You can use an action to cast one of the following spells from the rod: daylight, lesser restoration, or shield of faith. Once you cast a spell with this rod, you can’t cast that spell again until the next dawn.",
            "rarity": "legendary",
            "requires_attunement": "requires attunement",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "rod-of-thorns",
            "name": "Rod of Thorns",
            "type": "Rod",
            "desc": "Several long sharp thorns sprout along the edge of this stout wooden rod, and it functions as a magic mace that grants a +1 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with it. The rod has 5 charges and regains 1d4 + 1 expended charges daily at dawn. While holding the rod, you can use an action to expend 1 of its charges to cast the spike growth spell (save DC 15) from it. Embed Thorn. When you hit a creature with this rod, you can expend 1 of its charges to embed a thorn in the creature. At the start of each of the creature’s turns, it must succeed on a DC 15 Constitution saving throw or take 2d6 piercing damage from the embedded thorn. If the creature succeeds on two saving throws, the thorn falls out and crumbles to dust. The successes don’t need to be consecutive. If the creature dies while the thorn is embedded, its body transforms into a patch of nonmagical brambles, which fill its space with difficult terrain.",
            "rarity": "rare",
            "requires_attunement": "requires attunement",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "rod-of-underworld-navigation",
            "name": "Rod of Underworld Navigation",
            "type": "Rod",
            "desc": "This finely carved rod is decorated with gold and small dragon scales. While underground and holding this rod, you know how deep below the surface you are. You also know the direction to the nearest exit leading upward. As an action while underground and holding this rod, you can use the find the path spell to find the shortest, most direct physical route to a location you are familiar with on the surface. Once used, the find the path property can't be used again until 3 days have passed.",
            "rarity": "rare",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "rod-of-vapor",
            "name": "Rod of Vapor",
            "type": "Rod",
            "desc": "This wooden rod is topped with a dragon's head, carved with its mouth yawning wide. While holding the rod, you can use an action to cause a thick mist to issue from the dragon's mouth, filling your space. As long as you maintain concentration, you leave a trail of mist behind you when you move. The mist forms a line that is 5 feet wide and as long as the distance you travel. This mist you leave behind you lasts for 2 rounds; its area is heavily obscured on the first round and lightly obscured on the second, then it dissipates. When the rod has produced enough mist to fill ten 5-foot-square areas, its magic ceases to function until the next dawn.",
            "rarity": "common",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "rod-of-verbatim",
            "name": "Rod of Verbatim",
            "type": "Rod",
            "desc": "Tiny runic script covers much of this thin brass rod. While holding the rod, you can use a bonus action to activate it. For 10 minutes, it translates any language spoken within 30 feet of it into Common. The translation can be auditory, or it can appear as glowing, golden script, a choice you make when you activate it. If the translation appears on a surface, the surface must be within 30 feet of the rod and each word remains for 1 round after it was spoken. The rod's translation is literal, and it doesn't replicate or translate emotion or other nuances in speech, body language, or culture. Once used, the rod can't be used again until 1 hour has passed.",
            "rarity": "common",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "rod-of-warning",
            "name": "Rod of Warning",
            "type": "Rod",
            "desc": "This plain, wooden rod is topped with an orb of clear, polished crystal. You can use an action activate it with a command word while designating a particular kind of creature (orcs, wolves, etc.). When such a creature comes within 120 feet of the rod, the crystal glows, shedding bright light in a 10-foot radius and dim light for an additional 10 feet. You can use an action to deactivate the rod's light or change the kind of creature it detects. The rod doesn't need to be in your possession to function, but you must have it in hand to activate it, deactivate it, or change the kind of creature it detects.",
            "rarity": "common",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "root-of-the-world-tree",
            "name": "Root of the World Tree",
            "type": "Rod",
            "desc": "Crafted from the root burl of a sacred tree, this rod is 2 feet long with a spiked, knobby end. Runes inlaid with gold decorate the full length of the rod. This rod functions as a magic mace. Blood Anointment. You can perform a 1-minute ritual to anoint the rod in your blood. If you do, your hit point maximum is reduced by 2d4 until you finish a long rest. While your hit point maximum is reduced in this way, you gain a +1 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with this magic weapon, and, when you hit a fey or giant with this weapon, that creature takes an extra 2d6 necrotic damage. Holy Anointment. If you spend 1 minute anointing the rod with a flask of holy water, you can cast the augury spell from it. The runes carved into the rod glow and move, forming an answer to your query.",
            "rarity": "uncommon",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "scepter-of-majesty",
            "name": "Scepter of Majesty",
            "type": "Rod",
            "desc": "While holding this bejeweled, golden rod, you can use an action to cast the enthrall spell (save DC 15) from it, exhorting those in range to follow you and obey your commands. When you finish speaking, 1d6 creatures that failed their saving throw are affected as if by the dominate person spell. Each such creature treats you as its ruler, obeying your commands and automatically fighting in your defense should anyone attempt to harm you. If you are also attuned to and wearing a Headdress of Majesty (see page 146), your charmed subjects have advantage on attack rolls against any creature that attacked you or that cast an obvious spell on you within the last round. The scepter can't be used this way again until the next dawn.",
            "rarity": "rare",
            "requires_attunement": "requires attunement",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "immovable-rod",
            "name": "Immovable Rod",
            "type": "Rod",
            "desc": "This flat iron rod has a button on one end. You can use an action to press the button, which causes the rod to become magically fixed in place. Until you or another creature uses an action to push the button again, the rod doesn't move, even if it is defying gravity. The rod can hold up to 8,000 pounds of weight. More weight causes the rod to deactivate and fall. A creature can use an action to make a DC 30 Strength check, moving the fixed rod up to 10 feet on a success.",
            "rarity": "uncommon",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "wotc-srd",
            "document__title": "5e Core Rules",
            "document__url": "http://dnd.wizards.com/articles/features/systems-reference-document-srd"
        },
        {
            "slug": "rod-of-absorption",
            "name": "Rod of Absorption",
            "type": "Rod",
            "desc": "While holding this rod, you can use your reaction to absorb a spell that is targeting only you and not with an area of effect. The absorbed spell's effect is canceled, and the spell's energy-not the spell itself-is stored in the rod. The energy has the same level as the spell when it was cast. The rod can absorb and store up to 50 levels of energy over the course of its existence. Once the rod absorbs 50 levels of energy, it can't absorb more. If you are targeted by a spell that the rod can't store, the rod has no effect on that spell.\n\nWhen you become attuned to the rod, you know how many levels of energy the rod has absorbed over the course of its existence, and how many levels of spell energy it currently has stored.\n\nIf you are a spellcaster holding the rod, you can convert energy stored in it into spell slots to cast spells you have prepared or know. You can create spell slots only of a level equal to or lower than your own spell slots, up to a maximum of 5th level. You use the stored levels in place of your slots, but otherwise cast the spell as normal. For example, you can use 3 levels stored in the rod as a 3rd-level spell slot.\n\nA newly found rod has 1d10 levels of spell energy stored in it already. A rod that can no longer absorb spell energy and has no energy remaining becomes nonmagical.",
            "rarity": "very rare",
            "requires_attunement": "requires attunement",
            "document__slug": "wotc-srd",
            "document__title": "5e Core Rules",
            "document__url": "http://dnd.wizards.com/articles/features/systems-reference-document-srd"
        },
        {
            "slug": "rod-of-alertness",
            "name": "Rod of Alertness",
            "type": "Rod",
            "desc": "This rod has a flanged head and the following properties.\n\n**_Alertness_**. While holding the rod, you have advantage on Wisdom (Perception) checks and on rolls for initiative.\n\n**_Spells_**. While holding the rod, you can use an action to cast one of the following spells from it: _detect evil and good_, _detect magic_, _detect poison and disease_, or _see invisibility._\n\n**_Protective Aura_**. As an action, you can plant the haft end of the rod in the ground, whereupon the rod's head sheds bright light in a 60-foot radius and dim light for an additional 60 feet. While in that bright light, you and any creature that is friendly to you gain a +1 bonus to AC and saving throws and can sense the location of any invisible hostile creature that is also in the bright light.\n\nThe rod's head stops glowing and the effect ends after 10 minutes, or when a creature uses an action to pull the rod from the ground. This property can't be used again until the next dawn.",
            "rarity": "very rare",
            "requires_attunement": "requires attunement",
            "document__slug": "wotc-srd",
            "document__title": "5e Core Rules",
            "document__url": "http://dnd.wizards.com/articles/features/systems-reference-document-srd"
        },
        {
            "slug": "rod-of-lordly-might",
            "name": "Rod of Lordly Might",
            "type": "Rod",
            "desc": "This rod has a flanged head, and it functions as a magic mace that grants a +3 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with it. The rod has properties associated with six different buttons that are set in a row along the haft. It has three other properties as well, detailed below.\n\n**_Six Buttons_**. You can press one of the rod's six buttons as a bonus action. A button's effect lasts until you push a different button or until you push the same button again, which causes the rod to revert to its normal form.\n\nIf you press **button 1**, the rod becomes a _flame tongue_, as a fiery blade sprouts from the end opposite the rod's flanged head.\n\nIf you press **button 2**, the rod's flanged head folds down and two crescent-shaped blades spring out, transforming the rod into a magic battleaxe that grants a +3 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with it.\n\nIf you press **button 3**, the rod's flanged head folds down, a spear point springs from the rod's tip, and the rod's handle lengthens into a 6-foot haft, transforming the rod into a magic spear that grants a +3 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with it.\n\nIf you press **button 4**, the rod transforms into a climbing pole up to 50 feet long, as you specify. In surfaces as hard as granite, a spike at the bottom and three hooks at the top anchor the pole. Horizontal bars 3 inches long fold out from the sides, 1 foot apart, forming a ladder. The pole can bear up to 4,000 pounds. More weight or lack of solid anchoring causes the rod to revert to its normal form.\n\nIf you press **button 5**, the rod transforms into a handheld battering ram and grants its user a +10 bonus to Strength checks made to break through doors, barricades, and other barriers.\n\nIf you press **button 6**, the rod assumes or remains in its normal form and indicates magnetic north. (Nothing happens if this function of the rod is used in a location that has no magnetic north.) The rod also gives you knowledge of your approximate depth beneath the ground or your height above it.\n\n**_Drain Life_**. When you hit a creature with a melee attack using the rod, you can force the target to make a DC 17 Constitution saving throw. On a failure, the target takes an extra 4d6 necrotic damage, and you regain a number of hit points equal to half that necrotic damage. This property can't be used again until the next dawn.\n\n**_Paralyze_**. When you hit a creature with a melee attack using the rod, you can force the target to make a DC 17 Strength saving throw. On a failure, the target is paralyzed for 1 minute. The target can repeat the saving throw at the end of each of its turns, ending the effect on a success. This property can't be used again until the next dawn.\n\n**_Terrify_**. While holding the rod, you can use an action to force each creature you can see within 30 feet of you to make a DC 17 Wisdom saving throw. On a failure, a target is frightened of you for 1 minute. A frightened target can repeat the saving throw at the end of each of its turns, ending the effect on itself on a success. This property can't be used again until the next dawn.",
            "rarity": "legendary",
            "requires_attunement": "requires attunement",
            "document__slug": "wotc-srd",
            "document__title": "5e Core Rules",
            "document__url": "http://dnd.wizards.com/articles/features/systems-reference-document-srd"
        },
        {
            "slug": "rod-of-rulership",
            "name": "Rod of Rulership",
            "type": "Rod",
            "desc": "You can use an action to present the rod and command obedience from each creature of your choice that you can see within 120 feet of you. Each target must succeed on a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw or be charmed by you for 8 hours. While charmed in this way, the creature regards you as its trusted leader. If harmed by you or your companions, or commanded to do something contrary to its nature, a target ceases to be charmed in this way. The rod can't be used again until the next dawn.",
            "rarity": "rare",
            "requires_attunement": "requires attunement",
            "document__slug": "wotc-srd",
            "document__title": "5e Core Rules",
            "document__url": "http://dnd.wizards.com/articles/features/systems-reference-document-srd"
        },
        {
            "slug": "rod-of-security",
            "name": "Rod of Security",
            "type": "Rod",
            "desc": "While holding this rod, you can use an action to activate it. The rod then instantly transports you and up to 199 other willing creatures you can see to a paradise that exists in an extraplanar space. You choose the form that the paradise takes. It could be a tranquil garden, lovely glade, cheery tavern, immense palace, tropical island, fantastic carnival, or whatever else you can imagine. Regardless of its nature, the paradise contains enough water and food to sustain its visitors. Everything else that can be interacted with inside the extraplanar space can exist only there. For example, a flower picked from a garden in the paradise disappears if it is taken outside the extraplanar space.\n\nFor each hour spent in the paradise, a visitor regains hit points as if it had spent 1 Hit Die. Also, creatures don't age while in the paradise, although time passes normally. Visitors can remain in the paradise for up to 200 days divided by the number of creatures present (round down).\n\nWhen the time runs out or you use an action to end it, all visitors reappear in the location they occupied when you activated the rod, or an unoccupied space nearest that location. The rod can't be used again until ten days have passed.",
            "rarity": "very rare",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "wotc-srd",
            "document__title": "5e Core Rules",
            "document__url": "http://dnd.wizards.com/articles/features/systems-reference-document-srd"
        },
        {
            "slug": "immovable-rod-a5e",
            "name": "Immovable Rod",
            "type": "Rod",
            "desc": "You can use an action to press this metal rod’s single button, magically fixing it in place where it defies gravity. To move the rod, you or another creature must use an action to press the button again.\n\nThe rod can support up to 8,000 pounds of weight (if this is exceeded, the rod deactivates and falls). A creature that attempts to move the rod needs to make a DC 30 Strength check, moving the rod up to 10 feet on a success.",
            "rarity": "Uncommon",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "a5e",
            "document__title": "Level Up Advanced 5e",
            "document__url": "https://a5esrd.com/a5esrd"
        },
        {
            "slug": "rod-of-absorption-a5e",
            "name": "Rod of Absorption",
            "type": "Rod",
            "desc": "While holding this rod, when you are the only target of a spell you can use your reaction to absorb it as it is being cast. An absorbed spell has no effect and its energy is stored within the rod. The spell’s energy equals the spell levels used to cast it. The rod can store up to 50 spell levels worth of energy over the course of its existence. The rod cannot hold more than 50 spell levels worth of energy. If the rod does not have the space to store a spell and you try to absorb it, the rod has no effect.\n\nAfter attuning to the rod you know how much energy it currently contains and how much it has held over the course of its existence. A spellcaster can expend the energy in the rod and convert it to spell slots—for example, you can expend 3 spell levels of energy from the rod to cast a 3rd-level spell, even if you no longer have the spell slots to cast it. The spell must be a spell you know or have prepared, at a level you can cast it, and no higher than 5th-level.\n\nWhen found the rod contains 1d10 spell levels. A rod that can no longer store energy and no longer has any energy remaining within it loses its magical properties.",
            "rarity": "Very Rare",
            "requires_attunement": "requires attunement",
            "document__slug": "a5e",
            "document__title": "Level Up Advanced 5e",
            "document__url": "https://a5esrd.com/a5esrd"
        },
        {
            "slug": "rod-of-alertness-a5e",
            "name": "Rod of Alertness",
            "type": "Rod",
            "desc": "While holding this rod, you have _advantage_  on Perception checks and _initiative_  rolls, and as an action you can cast the following spells: __detect evil and good , detect magic , detect poison and disease ,_ see __invisibility ._\n\n**Protective Aura**. Once per dawn, you can use an action to plant the rod in the ground and speak its command word, causing it to emit _bright light_  in a 60-foot radius and dim light for an additional 60 feet. While in the bright light, you and creatures friendly to you gain a +1 bonus to AC and _saving throws_  and can sense the location of any _invisible_  hostile creature also in the bright light.\n\nThe rod stops glowing and the effect ends after 10 minutes, or sooner if a creature uses an action to pull the rod from the ground.",
            "rarity": "Very Rare",
            "requires_attunement": "requires attunement",
            "document__slug": "a5e",
            "document__title": "Level Up Advanced 5e",
            "document__url": "https://a5esrd.com/a5esrd"
        },
        {
            "slug": "rod-of-entropy-a5e",
            "name": "Rod of Entropy",
            "type": "Rod",
            "desc": "This skull-topped rod can be used as a club that grants a +1 bonus to _attack and damage rolls_  and deals an extra 1d6 necrotic damage.\n\nThe rod has 3 charges and regains 1d3 expended charges at dawn. As an action, you can expend the rod’s charges, increasing entropy in a 15-foot cone. Each creature in the area makes a DC 15 Constitution _saving throw_ . On a failure, the target takes 3d8 necrotic damage per charge expended, or half the damage on a success. A creature killed by this damage decays and becomes an inanimate skeleton. In addition, nonmagical objects in the area that are not being carried or worn experience rapid aging. If you expended 1 charge, soft materials like leather and cloth rot away, and liquid evaporates. If you expended 2 charges, hard organic materials like wood and bone crumble, and iron and steel rust away. Expending 3 charges causes Medium or smaller stone objects to crumble to dust.",
            "rarity": "Very Rare",
            "requires_attunement": "requires attunement",
            "document__slug": "a5e",
            "document__title": "Level Up Advanced 5e",
            "document__url": "https://a5esrd.com/a5esrd"
        },
        {
            "slug": "rod-of-lordly-might-a5e",
            "name": "Rod of Lordly Might",
            "type": "Rod",
            "desc": "You have a +3 bonus to _attack and damage rolls_  made with this rod, which appears as a magical mace in its default form. When you hit a creature with a weapon attack using the rod, you can activate one of the following three properties, each of which can be used once per dawn:\n\n* **Drain Life:** The target makes a DC 17 Constitution _saving throw_ , taking an extra 4d6 necrotic damage on a failure. You regain a number of hit points equal to half the necrotic damage dealt.\n* **Paralyze:** The target makes a DC 17 Strength _saving throw_  or is _paralyzed_  for 1 minute. At the end of each of its turns, it repeats the saving throw, ending the effect on a success.\n* **Terrify:** The target makes a DC 17 Wisdom _saving throw_  or is _frightened_  for 1 minute. At the end of each of its turns, it repeats the saving throw, ending the effect on a success.\n\n**Six Buttons.** The rod has buttons along its haft which alter its form when pressed. You can press one of the buttons as a bonus action, and the effect lasts until you push a different button for a new effect, or press the same button again causing the rod to revert to its default form.\n\n* **Button 1:** The rod loses its bonus to attack and damage rolls, instead producing a fiery blade from its haft which you can wield as a _flame tongue_  sword.\n* **Button 2:** The rod transforms into a magic battleaxe.\n* **Button 3:** The rod transforms into a magic spear.\n* **Button 4:** The rod transforms into a climbing pole up to 50 feet long. A spike at the bottom and three hooks at the top anchor the pole into any surface as hard as granite. Horizontal bars 3 inches long fold out from the sides, 1 foot apart, forming a ladder. The pole can bear up to 4,000 pounds. Either excess weight or a lack of solid anchoring causes the rod to revert to its default form.\n* **Button 5:** The rod transforms into a handheld battering ram that grants a +10 bonus to Strength checks made to break through doors, barricades, and other barriers.\n* **Button 6:** The rod assumes or remains in its default form and indicates magnetic north, and how far above or below ground that you are. Nothing happens if this function is used in a location without a magnetic north, or a ground as a reference point.",
            "rarity": "Legendary",
            "requires_attunement": "requires attunement",
            "document__slug": "a5e",
            "document__title": "Level Up Advanced 5e",
            "document__url": "https://a5esrd.com/a5esrd"
        },
        {
            "slug": "rod-of-rulership-a5e",
            "name": "Rod of Rulership",
            "type": "Rod",
            "desc": "Once per dawn, while holding this rod you can use an action to command obedience. Each creature of your choice that you can see within 120 feet makes a DC 15 Wisdom _saving throw_ . On a failure, a creature is _charmed_  by you for 8 hours. A creature charmed by you regards you as its trusted leader. The charm is broken if you or your companions either command a charmed creature to do something contrary to its nature, or cause the creature harm.",
            "rarity": "Rare",
            "requires_attunement": "requires attunement",
            "document__slug": "a5e",
            "document__title": "Level Up Advanced 5e",
            "document__url": "https://a5esrd.com/a5esrd"
        },
        {
            "slug": "rod-of-security-a5e",
            "name": "Rod of Security",
            "type": "Rod",
            "desc": "This rod provides a _haven_  for the decadent adventurer—a safe place to wait out one's problems.\n\n**Supply Storage.** This rod can magically store up to 200 Supply. While holding the rod you can use an action to target up to 20 Supply you can see within 5 feet of you, which instantly vanishes and is stored in the rod. You can’t use this ability in paradise.\n\nA newly found rod has 2d100 Supply already stored.\n\n**Paradise.** While holding the rod, you can use an action to activate it and expend an amount of Supply (1 per creature) for yourself and each willing creature you can see. You and the other creatures are instantly transported into an extraplanar _haven_  that takes the form of any paradise you can imagine (or chosen at random using the Sample Paradises table). It contains enough Supply to sustain its visitors, and for each hour spent in paradise a visitor regains 10 hit points. Creatures don’t age while in paradise, although time passes normally. To maintain the extraplanar space each day beyond the first, an amount of Supply equal to the number of visitors must be expended from the rod.\n\nApart from visitors and the objects they brought into the paradise, everything within the paradise can only exist there. A cushion taken from a palace paradise, for example, disappears when taken outside.\n\nWhen you expend the last Supply stored in the rod or you use an action to end it, all visitors reappear in the location they occupied when you activated the rod, or the nearest unoccupied space, and the rod can’t be used again until 10 days have passed.\n\n__**Table: Sample Paradises**__\n| **d6** | **Paradise**       |\n| ------ | ------------------ |\n| 1      | Cloud castle       |\n| 2      | Cozy tavern        |\n| 3      | Fantastic carnival |\n| 4      | Luxurious palace   |\n| 5      | Tranquil glade     |\n| 6      | Tropical island    |",
            "rarity": "Legendary",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "a5e",
            "document__title": "Level Up Advanced 5e",
            "document__url": "https://a5esrd.com/a5esrd"
        },
        {
            "slug": "aberrant-agreement",
            "name": "Aberrant Agreement",
            "type": "Scroll",
            "desc": "This long scroll bears strange runes and seals of eldritch powers. When you use an action to present this scroll to an aberration whose Challenge Rating is equal to or less than your level, the binding powers of the scroll compel it to listen to you. You can then attempt to strike a bargain with the aberration, negotiating a service from it in exchange for a reward. The aberration is under no compulsion to strike the bargain; it is compelled only to parley long enough for you to present a bargain and allow for negotiations. If you or your allies attack or otherwise attempt to harm the aberration, the truce is broken, and the creature can act normally. If the aberration refuses the offer, it is free to take any actions it wishes. Should you and the aberration reach an agreement that is satisfactory to both parties, you must sign the agreement and have the aberration do likewise (or make its mark, if it has no form of writing). The writing on the scroll changes to reflect the terms of the agreement struck. The magic of the charter holds both you and the aberration to the agreement until its service is rendered and the reward paid, at which point the scroll blackens and crumbles to dust. An aberration's thinking is alien to most humanoids, and vaguely worded contracts may result in unintended consequences, as the creature may have different thoughts as to how to best meet the goal. If either party breaks the bargain, that creature immediately takes 10d6 psychic damage, and the charter is destroyed, ending the contract.",
            "rarity": "rare",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "binding-oath",
            "name": "Binding Oath",
            "type": "Scroll",
            "desc": "This lengthy scroll is the testimony of a pious individual's adherence to their faith. The author has emphatically rewritten these claims many times, and its two slim, metal rollers are wrapped in yards of parchment. When you attune to the item, you rewrite certain passages to align with your own religious views. You can use an action to throw the scroll at a Huge or smaller creature you can see within 30 feet of you. Make a ranged attack roll. On a hit, the scroll unfurls and wraps around the creature. The target is restrained until you take a bonus action to command the scroll to release the creature. If you command it to release the creature or if you miss with the attack, the scroll curls back into a rolled-up scroll. If the restrained target's alignment is the opposite of yours along the law/chaos or good/evil axis, you can use a bonus action to cause the writing to blaze with light, dealing 2d6 radiant damage to the target. A creature, including the restrained target, can use an action to make a DC 17 Strength check to tear apart the scroll. On a success, the scroll is destroyed. Such an attempt causes the writing to blaze with light, dealing 2d6 radiant damage to both the creature making the attempt and the restrained target, whether or not the attempt is successful. Alternatively, the restrained creature can use an action to make a DC 17 Dexterity check to slip free of the scroll. This action also triggers the damage effect, but it doesn't destroy the scroll. Once used, the scroll can't be used again until the next dawn.",
            "rarity": "very rare",
            "requires_attunement": "requires attunement",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "blasphemous-writ",
            "name": "Blasphemous Writ",
            "type": "Scroll",
            "desc": "The Infernal runes inscribed upon this vellum scroll radiate a faint, crimson glow. When you use this spell scroll of command, the save DC is 15 instead of 13, and you can also affect targets that are undead or that don't understand your language.",
            "rarity": "uncommon",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "celestial-charter",
            "name": "Celestial Charter",
            "type": "Scroll",
            "desc": "Challenge Rating is equal to or less than your level, the binding powers of the scroll compel it to listen to you. You can then attempt to strike a bargain with the celestial, negotiating a service from it in exchange for a reward. The celestial is under no compulsion to strike the bargain; it is compelled only to parley long enough for you to present a bargain and allow for negotiations. If you or your allies attack or otherwise attempt to harm the celestial, the truce is broken, and the creature can act normally. If the celestial refuses the offer, it is free to take any actions it wishes. Should you and the celestial reach an agreement that is satisfactory to both parties, you must sign the charter and have the celestial do likewise (or make its mark, if it has no form of writing). The writing on the scroll changes to reflect the terms of the agreement struck. The magic of the charter holds both you and the celestial to the agreement until its service is rendered and the reward paid, at which point the scroll vanishes in a bright flash of light. A celestial typically attempts to fulfill its end of the bargain as best it can, and it is angry if you exploit any loopholes or literal interpretations to your advantage. If either party breaks the bargain, that creature immediately takes 10d6 radiant damage, and the charter is destroyed, ending the contract.",
            "rarity": "rare",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "feysworn-contract",
            "name": "Feysworn Contract",
            "type": "Scroll",
            "desc": "This long scroll is written in flowing Elvish, the words flickering with a pale witchlight, and marked with the seal of a powerful fey or a fey lord or lady. When you use an action to present this scroll to a fey whose Challenge Rating is equal to or less than your level, the binding powers of the scroll compel it to listen to you. You can then attempt to strike a bargain with the fey, negotiating a service from it in exchange for a reward. The fey is under no compulsion to strike the bargain; it is compelled only to parley long enough for you to present a bargain and allow for negotiations. If you or your allies attack or otherwise attempt to harm the fey, the truce is broken, and the creature can act normally. If the fey refuses the offer, it is free to take any actions it wishes. Should you and the fey reach an agreement that is satisfactory to both parties, you must sign the agreement and have the fey do likewise (or make its mark, if it has no form of writing). The writing on the scroll changes to reflect the terms of the agreement struck. The magic of the charter holds both you and the fey to the agreement until its service is rendered and the reward paid, at which point the scroll fades into nothingness. Fey are notoriously clever folk, and while they must adhere to the letter of any bargains they make, they always look for any advantage in their favor. If either party breaks the bargain, that creature immediately takes 10d6 poison damage, and the charter is destroyed, ending the contract.",
            "rarity": "rare",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "fiendish-charter",
            "name": "Fiendish Charter",
            "type": "Scroll",
            "desc": "This long scroll bears the mark of a powerful creature of the Lower Planes, whether an archduke of Hell, a demon lord of the Abyss, or some other powerful fiend or evil deity. When you use an action to present this scroll to a fiend whose Challenge Rating is equal to or less than your level, the binding powers of the scroll compel it to listen to you. You can then attempt to strike a bargain with the fiend, negotiating a service from it in exchange for a reward. The fiend is under no compulsion to strike the bargain; it is compelled only to parley long enough for you to present a bargain and allow for negotiations. If you or your allies attack or otherwise attempt to harm the fiend, the truce is broken, and the creature can act normally. If the fiend refuses the offer, it is free to take any actions it wishes. Should you and the fiend reach an agreement that is satisfactory to both parties, you must sign the charter in blood and have the fiend do likewise (or make its mark, if it has no form of writing). The writing on the scroll changes to reflect the terms of the agreement struck. The magic of the charter holds both you and the fiend to the agreement until its service is rendered and the reward paid, at which point the scroll ignites and burns into ash. The contract's wording should be carefully considered, as fiends are notorious for finding loopholes or adhering to the letter of the agreement to their advantage. If either party breaks the bargain, that creature immediately takes 10d6 necrotic damage, and the charter is destroyed, ending the contract.",
            "rarity": "rare",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "pact-paper",
            "name": "Pact Paper",
            "type": "Scroll",
            "desc": "This smooth paper is like vellum but is prepared from dozens of scales cast off by a Pact Drake (see Creature Codex). A contract can be inked on this paper, and the paper limns all falsehoods on it with a fiery glow. A command word clears the paper, allowing for several drafts. Another command word locks the contract in place and leaves space for signatures. Creatures signing the contract are afterward bound by the contract with all other signatories alerted when one of the signatories breaks the contract. The creature breaking the contract must succeed on a DC 15 Charisma saving throw or become blinded, deafened, and stunned for 1d6 minutes. A creature can repeat the saving throw at the end of each of minute, ending the conditions on itself on a success. After the conditions end, the creature has disadvantage on saving throws until it finishes a long rest. Once a contract has been locked in place and signed, the paper can't be cleared. If the contract has a duration or stipulation for its end, the pact paper is destroyed when the contract ends, releasing all signatories from any further obligations and immediately ending any effects on them.",
            "rarity": "rare",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "scroll-of-conjuring",
            "name": "Scroll of Conjuring",
            "type": "Scroll",
            "desc": "By using an action to recite the incantation inscribed on this scroll, you can conjure a creature to assist you, chosen by the GM or determined by rolling a d8 and consulting the appropriate table. Once the creature appears, the scroll crumbles to dust and is destroyed. The creature vanishes after 8 hours or when it is reduced to 0 hit points. The creature is friendly to you and your companions, and it acts on your turn. You can use a bonus action to command how the creature moves and what action it takes on its next turn, or to give it general orders, such as to attack your enemies. In absence of such orders, the creature acts in a fashion appropriate to its nature. Alternately, you can command the creature to perform a single task, which it will do to the best of its ability. A task can be simple (“Remove the debris blocking this passage.”) or complex (“Search the castle, taking care to remain unnoticed. Take a count of the guards and their locations, then return here and draw me a map.”) but must be completable within 8 hours. | d8 | Creature | |\n| --- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- | --- |\n| 1 | Dust Mephit\\|Dust/Ice Mephit\\|Ice/Magma Mephit\\|Magma mephit or Lantern Dragonette | ] |\n| 2 | Hippogriff or Clockwork Soldier | |\n| 3 | Imp/Quasit or Aviere | |\n| 4 | Death Dog or Giant Moth - Shockwing | |\n| 5 | Centaur or Roggenwolf | |\n| 6 | Ettercap or Clockwork Hound | |\n| 7 | Ogre of Spider thief | |\n| 8 | Griffon or Dragon - Light - Wyrmling | | | d8 | Creature |\n| --- | ------------------------------------------------------ |\n| 1 | Copper Dragon Wyrmling or Wind Wyrmling Dragon |\n| 2 | Pegasus or Demon - Wind |\n| 3 | Gargoyle or Drake - Hoarfrost |\n| 4 | Grick or Kitsune |\n| 5 | Hell Hound or Kobold - Swolbold |\n| 6 | Winter Wolf or Clockwork Huntsman |\n| 7 | Minotaur or Drake - Peluda |\n| 8 | Doppelganger or Pombero | | d8 | Creature |\n| --- | ------------------------------------------ |\n| 1 | Bearded Devil or Korrigan |\n| 2 | Nightmare or Wyrmling Flame Dragon |\n| 3 | Phase Spider or Bloodsapper |\n| 4 | Chuul or Elemental - Venom |\n| 5 | Ettin or Domovoi |\n| 6 | Succubus or Incubus or Ratatosk |\n| 7 | Salamander or Drake - Moon |\n| 8 | Xorn or Karakura |",
            "rarity": "uncommon (least), rare (lesser), very rare (greater)",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "scroll-of-fabrication",
            "name": "Scroll of Fabrication",
            "type": "Scroll",
            "desc": "You can draw a picture of any object that is Large or smaller on the face of this blank scroll. When the drawing is complete, it becomes a real, nonmagical, three-dimensional object. Thus, a drawing of a backpack becomes an actual backpack you can use to store and carry items. Any object created by the scroll can be destroyed by the dispel magic spell, by taking it into the area of an antimagic field, or by similar circumstances. Nothing created by the scroll can have a value greater than 25 gp. If you draw an object of greater value, such as a diamond, the object appears authentic, but close inspection reveals it to be made from glass, paste, bone or some other common or worthless material. The object remains for 24 hours or until you dismiss it as a bonus action. The scroll can't be used this way again until the next dawn.",
            "rarity": "uncommon",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "scroll-of-treasure-finding",
            "name": "Scroll of Treasure Finding",
            "type": "Scroll",
            "desc": "Each scroll of treasure finding works for a specific type of treasure. You can use an action to read the scroll and sense whether that type of treasure is present within 1 mile of you for 1 hour. This scroll reveals the treasure's general direction, but not its specific location or amount. The GM chooses the type of treasure or determines it by rolling a d100 and consulting the following table. | dice: 1d% | Treasure Type |\n| ----------- | ------------- |\n| 01-10 | Copper |\n| 11-20 | Silver |\n| 21-30 | Electrum |\n| 31-40 | Gold |\n| 41-50 | Platinum |\n| 51-75 | Gemstone |\n| 76-80 | Art objects |\n| 81-00 | Magic items |",
            "rarity": "uncommon",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "scrolls-of-correspondence",
            "name": "Scrolls of Correspondence",
            "type": "Scroll",
            "desc": "These vellum scrolls always come in pairs. Anything written on one scroll also appears on the matching scroll, as long as they are both on the same plane of existence. Each scroll can hold up to 75 words at a time. While writing on one scroll, you are aware that the words are appearing on a paired scroll, and you know if no creature bears the paired scroll. The scrolls don't translate words written on them, and the reader and writer must be able to read and write the same language to understanding the writing on the scrolls. While holding one of the scrolls, you can use an action to tap it three times with a quill and speak a command word, causing both scrolls to go blank. If one of the scrolls in the pair is destroyed, the other scroll becomes nonmagical.",
            "rarity": "common",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "spell-scroll",
            "name": "Spell Scroll",
            "type": "Scroll",
            "desc": "A _spell scroll_ bears the words of a single spell, written in a mystical cipher. If the spell is on your class's spell list, you can use an action to read the scroll and cast its spell without having to provide any of the spell's components. Otherwise, the scroll is unintelligible.\n\nIf the spell is on your class's spell list but of a higher level than you can normally cast, you must make an ability check using your spellcasting ability to determine whether you cast it successfully. The DC equals 10 + the spell's level. On a failed check, the spell disappears from the scroll with no other effect. Once the spell is cast, the words on the scroll fade, and the scroll itself crumbles to dust.\n\nThe level of the spell on the scroll determines the spell's saving throw DC and attack bonus, as well as the scroll's rarity, as shown in the Spell Scroll table.\n\n**Spell Scroll (table)**\n\n| Spell Level | Rarity    | Save DC | Attack Bonus |\n|-------------|-----------|---------|--------------|\n| Cantrip     | Common    | 13      | +5           |\n| 1st         | Common    | 13      | +5           |\n| 2nd         | Uncommon  | 13      | +5           |\n| 3rd         | Uncommon  | 15      | +7           |\n| 4th         | Rare      | 15      | +7           |\n| 5th         | Rare      | 17      | +9           |\n| 6th         | Very rare | 17      | +9           |\n| 7th         | Very rare | 18      | +10          |\n| 8th         | Very rare | 18      | +10          |\n| 9th         | Legendary | 19      | +11          |\n\nA wizard spell on a _spell scroll_ can be copied just as spells in spellbooks can be copied. When a spell is copied from a the copier must succeed on an Intelligence (Arcana) check with a DC equal to 10 + the spell's level. If the check succeeds, the spell is successfully copied. Whether the check succeeds or fails, the _spell scroll_ is destroyed.",
            "rarity": "varies",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "wotc-srd",
            "document__title": "5e Core Rules",
            "document__url": "http://dnd.wizards.com/articles/features/systems-reference-document-srd"
        },
        {
            "slug": "spell-scroll-a5e",
            "name": "Spell Scroll",
            "type": "Scroll",
            "desc": "A spell scroll bears a sealed spell within. If the spell is on your class’ spell list, you can use the scroll to cast the spell (taking the spell’s normal casting time) without the need for material components. Otherwise the _spell scroll_ is unreadable to you. If you are interrupted while using the scroll, you may attempt to use it again. Once the spell within a scroll has been cast, the scroll crumbles away. \n\nTo use a _spell scroll_ of a higher spell level than you are able to cast, you must succeed on _spellcasting_  ability check (DC 10 + the spell’s level). On a failure, the magical energy within is expended with no effect, leaving behind a blank piece of parchment. \n\nA wizard may use a _spell scroll_ to copy the spell stored within to their spellbook by making an Intelligence (Arcana) check (DC 10 + the spell’s level). Whether the check succeeds or not, the attempt destroys the _spell scroll_. \n\nThe level of the spell stored within a scroll determines the _saving throw_  DC, _attack bonus_ , crafting components, cost, and rarity as per Table: Spell Scrolls. The costs of a _spell scroll_ are in addition to any material components, which are required (and if necessary also consumed) when it is made.\n\n__Table: Spell Scrolls__\n| **Spell Level** | **Rarity** | **Save DC** | **Attack Bonus** | **Cost**  | **Crafting Components**                |\n| --------------- | ---------- | ----------- | ---------------- | --------- | -------------------------------------- |\n| Cantrip         | Common     | 13          | 5                | 10 gp     | Magical inks                           |\n| 1st             | Common     | 13          | 5                | 25gp      | Magical inks                           |\n| 2nd             | Common     | 13          | 5                | 75gp      | Magical inks                           |\n| 3rd             | Uncommon   | 15          | 7                | 175gp     | Dire wolf hide                         |\n| 4th             | Uncommon   | 15          | 7                | 500gp     | Dire wolf hide                         |\n| 5th             | Rare       | 17          | 9                | 1,250 gp  | Parchment infused with planar energy   |\n| 6th             | Rare       | 17          | 9                | 3,000 gp  | Parchment infused with planar energy   |\n| 7th             | Very Rare  | 18          | 10               | 8,000 gp  | Blank pages from a _lich’s_  spellbook |\n| 8th             | Very Rare  | 18          | 10               | 20,000 gp | Blank pages from a _lich’s_  spellbook |\n| 9th             | Legendary  | 19          | 11               | 55,000 gp | Parchment made from a dragon’s hide    |",
            "rarity": "Common",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "a5e",
            "document__title": "Level Up Advanced 5e",
            "document__url": "https://a5esrd.com/a5esrd"
        },
        {
            "slug": "brass-clockwork-staff",
            "name": "Brass Clockwork Staff",
            "type": "Staff",
            "desc": "This curved staff is made of coiled brass and glass wire. You can use an action to speak one of three command words and throw the staff on the ground within 10 feet of you. The staff transforms into one of three wireframe creatures, depending on the command word: a unicorn, a hound, or a swarm of tiny beetles. The wireframe creature or swarm is under your control and acts on its own initiative count. On your turn, you can mentally command the wireframe creature or swarm if it is within 60 feet of you and you aren't incapacitated. You decide what action the creature takes and where it moves during its next turn, or you can issue it a general command, such as to attack your enemies or guard a location. The wireframe unicorn lasts for up to 1 hour, uses the statistics of a warhorse, and can be used as a mount. The wireframe hound lasts for up to 5 minutes, uses the statistics of a dire wolf, and has advantage to track any creature you damaged within the past hour. The wireframe beetle swarm lasts for up to 1 minute, uses the statistics of a swarm of beetles, and can destroy nonmagical objects that aren't being worn or carried and that aren't made of stone or metal (destruction happens at a rate of 1 pound of material per round, up to a maximum of 10 pounds). At the end of the duration, the wireframe creature or swarm reverts to its staff form. It reverts to its staff form early if it drops to 0 hit points or if you use an action to speak the command word again while touching it. If it reverts to its staff form early by being reduced to 0 hit points, the staff becomes inert and unusable until the third dawn after the creature was killed. Otherwise, the wireframe creature or swarm has all of its hit points when you transform the staff into the creature again. When a wireframe creature or swarm becomes the staff again, this property of the staff can't be used again until the next dawn.",
            "rarity": "rare",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "crystal-staff",
            "name": "Crystal Staff",
            "type": "Staff",
            "desc": "Carved from a single piece of solid crystal, this staff has numerous reflective facets that produce a strangely hypnotic effect. The staff has 10 charges. While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast one of the following spells from it, using your spell save DC and spellcasting ability: color spray (1 charge), confound senses* (3 charges), confusion (4 charges), hypnotic pattern (3 charges), jeweled fissure* (3 charges), prismatic ray* (5 charges), or prismatic spray (7 charges). Spells marked with an asterisk (*) can be found in Deep Magic for 5th Edition. At the GM's discretion, spells from Deep Magic for 5th Edition can be replaced with other spells of similar levels and similarly related to light or confusion. The staff regains 1d6 + 4 expended charges daily at dawn. If you expend the last charge, roll a d20. On a 1, the crystal shatters, destroying the staff and dealing 2d6 piercing damage to each creature within 10 feet of it.",
            "rarity": "very rare",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "rowan-staff",
            "name": "Rowan Staff",
            "type": "Staff",
            "desc": "Favored by those with ties to nature and death, this staff can be wielded as a magic quarterstaff that grants a +1 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with it. While holding it, you have an advantage on saving throws against spells. The staff has 10 charges for the following properties. It regains 1d4 + 1 expended charges daily at midnight, though it regains all its charges if it is bathed in moonlight at midnight. If you expend the last charge, roll a d20. On a 1, the staff loses its properties and becomes a nonmagical quarterstaff. Spell. While holding this staff, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast animate dead, using your spell save DC and spellcasting ability. The target bones or corpse can be a Medium or smaller humanoid or beast. Each charge animates a separate target. These undead creatures are under your control for 24 hours. You can use an action to expend 1 charge each day to reassert your control of up to four undead creatures created by this staff for another 24 hours. Deanimate. You can use an action to strike an undead creature with the staff in combat. If the attack hits, the target must succeed on a DC 17 Constitution saving throw or revert to an inanimate pile of bones or corpse in its space. If the undead has the Incorporeal Movement trait, it is destroyed instead. Deanimating an undead creature expends a number of charges equal to twice the challenge rating of the creature (minimum of 1). If the staff doesn’t have enough charges to deanimate the target, the staff doesn’t deanimate the target.",
            "rarity": "very rare",
            "requires_attunement": "requires attunement",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "seelie-staff",
            "name": "Seelie Staff",
            "type": "Staff",
            "desc": "This white ash staff is decorated with gold and tipped with an uncut crystal of blue quartz. This staff can be wielded as a magic quarterstaff. While holding the staff, you have advantage on Charisma checks made to influence or interact socially with fey creatures. The staff has 10 charges for the following properties. The staff regains 1d6 + 4 charges daily at dawn. If you expend the last charge, roll a d20. On a 1, the staff dissolves into a shower of fragrant flower petals, which blow away in a sudden wind. Rebuke Fey. When you hit a fey creature with a melee attack using the staff, you can expend 1 charge to deal an extra 2d6 radiant damage to the target. If the fey has an evil alignment, the extra damage increases to 4d6, and the target must succeed on a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw or be frightened of you until the start of your next turn. Spells. While holding this staff, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast one of the following spells from it, using your spell save DC and spellcasting ability: charm person (1 charge), conjure woodland beings (4 charges), disguise self (1 charge), pass without trace (2 charges), or tree stride (5 charges). You can also use an action to cast the vicious mockery cantrip from the staff without using any charges.",
            "rarity": "rare",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "serpent-staff",
            "name": "Serpent Staff",
            "type": "Staff",
            "desc": "Fashioned from twisted ash wood, this staff 's head is carved in the likeness of a serpent preparing to strike. You have resistance to poison damage while you hold this staff. The staff has 10 charges for the following properties. It regains 1d6 + 4 expended charges daily at dawn. If you expend the last charge, roll a d20. On a 1, the carved snake head twists and magically consumes the rest of the staff, destroying it. Spells. While holding the staff, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast one of the following spells from it, using your spell save DC: cloudkill (5 charges), detect poison and disease (1 charge), poisoned volley* (2 charges), or protection from poison (2 charges). You can also use an action to cast the poison spray spell from the staff without using any charges. Spells marked with an asterisk (*) can be found in Deep Magic for 5th Edition. Serpent Form. While holding the staff, you can use an action cast polymorph on yourself, transforming into a serpent or snake that has a challenge rating of 2 or lower. While you are in the form of a serpent, you retain your Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma scores. You can remain in serpent form for up to 1 minute, and you can revert to your normal form as an action. Once used, this property can’t be used again until the next dawn.",
            "rarity": "rare",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "soldras-staff",
            "name": "Soldra's Staff",
            "type": "Staff",
            "desc": "Crafted by a skilled wizard and meant to be a spellcaster's last defense, this staff is 5 feet long, made of yew wood that curves at its top, is iron shod at its mid-section, and capped with a silver dragon's claw that holds a lustrous, though rough and uneven, black pearl. When you make an attack with this staff, it howls and whistles hauntingly like the wind. When you cast a spell from this staff, it chirps like insects on a hot summer night. This staff can be wielded as a magic quarterstaff that grants a +1 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with it. It has 3 charges. While holding the staff, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast one of the following spells from it, using your spell save DC: faerie fire (1 charge) or gust of wind (2 charges). The staff regains 1d3 expended charges daily at dawn. Once daily, it can regain 1 expended charge by exposing the staff 's pearl to moonlight for 1 minute.",
            "rarity": "uncommon",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "spider-staff",
            "name": "Spider Staff",
            "type": "Staff",
            "desc": "Delicate web-like designs are carved into the wood of this twisted staff, which is often topped with the carved likeness of a spider. The staff has 10 charges for the following properties. It regains 1d6 + 4 expended charges daily at dawn. If you expend the last charge, roll a d20. On a 1, a swarm of spiders appears and consumes the staff then vanishes. Spells. While holding the staff, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast one of the following spells from it, using your spell save DC: giant insect (4 charges), spider climb (2 charges), or web (2 charges). Spider Swarm. While holding the staff, you can use an action and expend 1 charge to cause a swarm of spiders to appear in a space that you can see within 60 feet of you. The swarm is friendly to you and your companions but otherwise acts on its own. The swarm of spiders remains for 1 minute, until you dismiss it as an action, or until you move more than 100 feet away from it.",
            "rarity": "rare",
            "requires_attunement": "requires attunement",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "splinter-staff",
            "name": "Splinter Staff",
            "type": "Staff",
            "desc": "This roughly made staff has cracked and splintered ends and can be wielded as a magic quarterstaff. When you roll a 20 on an attack roll made with this weapon, you embed a splinter in the target's body, and the pain and discomfort of the splinter is distracting. While the splinter remains embedded, the target has disadvantage on Dexterity, Intelligence, and Wisdom checks, and, if it is concentrating on a spell, it must succeed on a DC 10 Constitution saving throw at the start of each of its turns to maintain concentration on the spell. A creature, including the target, can take its action to remove the splinter by succeeding on a DC 13 Wisdom (Medicine) check.",
            "rarity": "uncommon",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "staff-of-binding",
            "name": "Staff of Binding",
            "type": "Staff",
            "desc": "Made from stout oak with steel bands and bits of chain running its entire length, the staff feels oddly heavy. This staff has 10 charges for the following properties. It regains 1d6 + 4 expended charges daily at dawn. If you expend the last charge, roll a d20. On a 1, the staff constricts in upon itself and is destroyed. Spells. While holding the staff, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast one of the following spells from it, using your spell save DC: arcane lock (2 charges), hold monster (5 charges), hold person (2 charges), lock armor* (2 charges), or planar binding (5 charges). Spells marked with an asterisk (*) can be found in Deep Magic for 5th Edition. Unbound. While holding the staff, you can use your reaction to expend 1 charge and gain advantage on a saving throw you make to avoid being paralyzed or restrained.",
            "rarity": "rare",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "staff-of-camazotz",
            "name": "Staff of Camazotz",
            "type": "Staff",
            "desc": "This staff of petrified wood is topped with a stylized carving of a bat with spread wings, a mouth baring great fangs, and a pair of ruby eyes. It has 10 charges and regains 1d6 + 4 charges daily at dawn. As long as the staff holds at least 1 charge, you can communicate with bats as if you shared a language. Bat and bat-like beasts and monstrosities never attack you unless magically forced to do so or unless you attack them first. While holding the staff, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast one of the following spells from it, using your spell save DC: darkness (2 charges), dominate monster (8 charges), or flame strike (5 charges).",
            "rarity": "very rare",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "staff-of-channeling",
            "name": "Staff of Channeling",
            "type": "Staff",
            "desc": "This plain, wooden staff has 5 charges and regains 1d4 + 1 expended charges daily at dawn. When you cast a spell while holding this staff, you can expend 1 or more of its charges as part of the casting to increase the level of the spell. Expending 1 charge increases the spell's level by 1, expending 3 charges increases the spell's level by 2, and expending 5 charges increases the spell's level by 3. When you increase a spell's level using the staff, the spell casts as if you used a spell slot of a higher level, but you don't expend that higher-level spell slot. You can't use the magic of this staff to increase a spell to a slot level higher than the highest spell level you can cast. For example, if you are a 7th-level wizard, and you cast magic missile, expending a 2nd-level spell slot, you can expend 3 of the staff 's charges to cast the spell as a 4th-level spell, but you can't expend 5 of the staff 's charges to cast the spell as a 5th-level spell since you can't cast 5th-level spells.",
            "rarity": "uncommon",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "staff-of-desolation",
            "name": "Staff of Desolation",
            "type": "Staff",
            "desc": "This staff can be wielded as a magic quarterstaff that grants a +1 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with it. When you hit an object or structure with a melee attack using the staff, you deal double damage (triple damage on a critical hit). The staff has 10 charges. While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast one of the following spells from it, using your spell save DC: thunderwave (1 charge), shatter (2 charges), circle of death (6 charges), disintegrate (6 charges), or earthquake (8 charges). The staff regains 1d6 + 4 expended charges daily at dawn. If you expend the last charge, roll a d20. On a 1, the staff crumbles to dust and is destroyed.",
            "rarity": "very rare",
            "requires_attunement": "requires attunement",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "staff-of-dissolution",
            "name": "Staff of Dissolution",
            "type": "Staff",
            "desc": "A gray crystal floats in the crook of this twisted staff. The crystal breaks into fragments as it slowly revolves, and those fragments break into smaller pieces then into clouds of dust. In spite of this, the crystal never seems to reduce in size. You have resistance to necrotic damage while you hold this staff. The staff has 10 charges. While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast one of the following spells from it, using your spell save DC: blight (4 charges), disintegrate (6 charges), or shatter (2 charges). The staff regains 1d6 + 4 expended charges daily at dawn. If you expend the last charge, roll a d20. On a 1, the staff crumbles to dust.",
            "rarity": "very rare",
            "requires_attunement": "requires attunement",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        },
        {
            "slug": "staff-of-fate",
            "name": "Staff of Fate",
            "type": "Staff",
            "desc": "One half of this staff is crafted of white ash and capped in gold, while the other is ebony and capped in silver. The staff has 10 charges for the following properties. It regains 1d6 + 4 charges daily at dawn. If you expend the last charge, roll a d20. On a 1, the staff splits into two halves with a resounding crack and becomes nonmagical. Fortune. While holding the staff, you can use an action to expend 1 of its charges and touch a creature with the gold end of the staff, giving it good fortune. The target can choose to use its good fortune and have advantage on one ability check, attack roll, or saving throw. This effect ends after the target has used the good fortune three times or when 24 hours have passed. Misfortune. While holding the staff, you can use an action to touch a creature with the silver end of the staff. The target must succeed on a DC 15 Wisdom saving throw or have disadvantage on one of the following (your choice): ability checks, attack rolls, or saving throws. If the target fails the saving throw, the staff regains 1 expended charge. This effect lasts until removed by the remove curse spell or until you use an action to expend 1 of its charges and touch the creature with the gold end of the staff. Spells. While holding the staff, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast one of the following spells from it, using your spell save DC: augury (2 charges), bane (1 charge), bless (1 charge), remove curse (3 charges), or divination (4 charges). You can also use an action to cast the guidance spell from the staff without using any charges.",
            "rarity": "very rare",
            "requires_attunement": "",
            "document__slug": "vom",
            "document__title": "Vault of Magic",
            "document__url": "https://koboldpress.com/kpstore/product/vault-of-magic-for-5th-edition/"
        }
    ]
}